Nordic Ski

Author: Club Sports

This past weekend, eight members of the ND Nordic Ski Club travelled to Marquette, Michigan to compete in one of the largest cross country ski races in the country: the 18th Annual Noquemanon Ski Marathon. Over a thousand skiers compete in this deceptively tough race in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan each year, braving the harsh temperatures and snowy conditions, tackling the steep elevation changes of the course, and enjoying the beautiful forest landscape and picturesque views of Lake Superior. Getting an early start on Saturday, January 24th around 7:00 in the morning, the skiers faced temperatures that were uncharacteristically warm in the mid 30’s but dropped as the day continued. ND’s athletes raced throughout the day in staggered waves in the 12 and 24 kilometer events, starting at different trailheads in the rugged course, and culminating in an electrifying finish beside Northern Michigan University’s Superior Dome. Many young members of the team performed excellently in their respective races, with sophomores Molly Stewart placing first overall in the 12k Women’s Classic with a time of 0:54:17.5 and Franklin Forsberg placing first in the 24 and under category for the 12k Men’s Classic, with a time of 0:42:33.9. In the 24k Classic Men’s Race, two freshmen placed in the 18-19 year old category, with Derek Meyer finishing second with a time of 1:36:58.5 and Ian Nichols finishing third with a time of 1:46:24.8. This first competition of the year has given new and old members of the team alike an exciting taste of the Nordic spring season as many go on to prepare for the team’s next challenge, the North American Birkebeiner: a 50 kilometer ski race held in late February that is attended by over 10,000 skiers from all over the world in Hayward, Wisconsin. 
Full Team Results:
Molly Stewart: 1st place, Overall, Women’s 12k Classic
Franklin Forsberg: 1st place, 24 and Under, Men’s 12k Classic 
Abigail Swint: 7th place, 24 and Under, Women’s 12k Classic
Derek Meyers: 2nd place, 18-19, Men’s 24k Classic
Ian Nichols: 3rd place, 18-19, Men’s 24k Classic
Jennifer Coble : 7th place, 24 and Under, Women’s 24k Classic
Lillian McGill: 8th place, 24 and Under, Women’s 24k Classic
Joseph Kuhns: 7th place, 24 and Under, Men’s 24k Freestyle